Posted in Books, Review

Better Left Unsent by Lia Louis – My Thoughts

AD PR product

Today is my stop on the Random Things Tours celebrating the publication of Better Left Unsent by Lia Louis on 11 April 2024 by Zaffre / Bonnier Books. It is available to purchase now, here are a few links for places it is available!

This tour has had some other posts today with a fair few more to come! So, if my post gets you interested but you’re still not sure, why not go take a look at one of the other posts and see if they can convince you? here’s the schedule of who will be posting about this book & when:

Better Left Unsent Tour Schedule

Lia Louis is an author from Hertfordshire, the United Kingdom, where she lives with her partner and three children.

She has written four novels to date – Somewhere Close to Happy (2019), Dear Emmie Blue (2020), Eight Perfect Hours (2021), and her new novel is Better Left Unsent.

Lia’s books are enjoyed around the world and have been translated into over ten languages.

Lia Louis

Synopsis for Better Left Unsent

Millie is a big fan of keeping her opinions to herself . . . or at least keeping them in her drafts.

Millie Chandler is known at work as the nice receptionist who got dumped by the company hotshot, and ever since then, she has vowed to keep everything to herself – her feelings, her hopes, and especially her fears. No one can hurt her if they don’t know how she really feels.

But Millie does have an outlet: her emails. From sarcastic replies to her rude, tactless boss, rants to friends about their terrible taste in men to a five-hundred-word love declaration to her ex, who three years on, is about to marry someone else. Millie’s reality lives in her drafts, but when she wakes up one morning, all of those drafts are now somehow in her sent folder. The truth is out.

As every dark secret she’s worked so hard to keep password protected is released, Millie must fix the chaos her words have caused, and face everything she’s ever hidden away from.

Will Millie find the strength to finally open both her heart, and her inbox?

Better Left Unsent by Lia Louis

My thoughts: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Better Left Unsent has made me giggle both at the humour included within it’s pages and in relief that this was happening to Millie and not to me! Millie is such a likeable character that through all the ups and downs we follow her through during the aftermath of her draft emails being sent you just have to root for her to come out the other side in a much happier place.

The writing was very easy to read, so easy in fact that I have hardly put this book down since I opened it. The narrative just grabbed me and kept me engrossed in the lives of Millie, her family, friends and colleagues until I turned the last page with a sigh of contentment and the hope that we might one day revisit Millie and see what else she gets up to.

The story was told both through a traditional book style narrative but also with the addition here and there of emails, SMS and social media messages. All of that came together to for a really enjoyable reading experience for me.

This wonderful book has run me through the whole gamut of emotions while reading it. The one I am left with is relief however, that I am the sort of person who deletes this type of missive once the emotion that caused me to write it has passed. My draft boxes are empty!

One thought on “Better Left Unsent by Lia Louis – My Thoughts

Leave a comment